Too Late

As darkness circled round and drew you in much nearer

Did you call for us – did you hold on for us before your final journey?

Did you waive goodbye through the images of your life?

I felt you leave us but I was nowhere near

I spoke goodbye but did you hear?

I called your name as you moved from life to death

But you had already left me before I stood before you

In shock and disbelief – I called you daddy, I called your name

Did you hear me, did you hear my pain

As the storm raged inside me, I held your hand

I kissed you – I stroked your face

Too late

Leave a Reply

