Coming up for air

Lost in the chaos of grief

No way out, no reprieve

Sucking you down – you hold your breath

Waiting to be free of this enduring tide

Of raw emotion, pain and fear

I come up for air but I am left behind

Life has moved on but cast me aside

The sea of grief has ebbed but the clouds have moved in

Closing down around me – so grey and so dim

I gasp and I choke – I stumble and falter

I claw and I fight to push myself out of the water

A glimmer of sun bursts through the clouds

and reminds me of the me that I left behind

A year and a month since you went away

I try to move forward but stumble and fall

I wish you were here to pull me free

To tell me what to do so I can see through the clouds

Leave a Reply

