Strong

They didn’t take my strength For that was all mine you see

I lived it and I learnt it

Through pain and misery

They couldn’t make me falter

Though the path was long

My mind they couldn’t alter

It’s me and I am strong.

They tried to make me be

A puppet in the throng …..

They were so wrong.

But no that wasn’t me.

They couldn’t break my spirit

They couldn’t make me be

That mild and gentle patient

It would make their lives easier

But that was not me.

I walked as I wanted too

I said it how it was

I shouted when I wanted

To you all I showed love.

Some of them I liked

For them I would be good

But those of them I didn’t ……..

They surely understood.

Teresa Dovey March 2016

Leave a Reply

