Today

Were you there…

Today as the sun danced on the ground

Did you see…

My boys and me, playing football, living, feeling free

Have they done you proud…

Tall, strong, a boy and a man

And can you see… what will they be?

 

I see you in them; it makes me smile

Awakening fond memories of how you used to be

I forget for a while as we watch Luis play

The pain, the questions, why it was meant to be

 

And now the game is over – I sit and think of you

As the sun begins to settle – with the tempting promise of spring

While my questions I cannot hear you answer,

There is one thing I can be sure of:

So proud of them, dad, both you and me x

 

13 March 2015

Leave a Reply

